The Three Kings
Arr. Robert D. Vandall
Series: Christmas Suite Series
Category: Piano Suite
Instrument: Piano
Level: Late Intermediate
Robert D. Vandall's The Three Kings depicts the story of the Magi as they followed the bright star to Bethlehem on the night when Christ was born. The first piece in the suite, "March of the Three Kings," reflects the steady journey of the three wise men as they made their way through the desert. "We Three Kings of Orient Are" includes exotic-sounding interludes using whole-tone scales, to reflect the faraway land from which the kings have traveled. A rocking left-hand accompaniment paints a picture of camels traversing the desert landscape. The final selection, "O Come, All Ye Faithful," is a triumphant procession celebrating the Christ child, to whom the three kings presented their gifts at the end of their long journey.
March of the Three Kings Robert D. Vandall (arranger)
O Come, All Ye Faithful Robert D. Vandall (arranger)
We Three Kings of Orient Are Robert D. Vandall (arranger)