Concerto (from L'estro armonico Opus 3, No. 9)
By Antonio Vivaldi / arr. David Marlatt
Item: 81-WWE1067
UPC: 685462015603
ISBN 10: 1554735599
ISBN 13: 9781554735594
PRICE: $25.00
Series: Eighth Note Publications
Category: Woodwind - Mixed Ensemble
Format: Score & Parts
Instrument: Woodwind Ensemble
Instrumentation: Interchangeable Woodwind Ensemble
A fairly common practice in the Baroque era was for organists (especially the great J. S. Bach) to "borrow" and transcribe orchestral music from themselves or other composers to create spectacular organ solos. Bach adapted several works by Vivaldi. This particular transcription was originally for solo violin and string orchestra. The brilliant showy solo line interspersed with tutti sections lends itself well to a woodwind ensemble.