Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue
By Johann Sebastian Bach / ed. Hans Bischoff, translation by Alexander Lipsky
Item: 00-K02141
UPC: 654979019398
ISBN 10: 0757977448
ISBN 13: 9780757977442
PRICE: No Longer Available
Series: Kalmus Edition
Category: Piano Solo
Instrument: Piano
Level: Advanced
Composed in the 1720s, the Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue is an example of virtuosity and carefully planned harmonic structure. The Fantasy is divided into three sections: the first consisting of technically demanding toccata-like passages, a recitative requiring much emotional expressivity and the third, a combination of the two previous sections. The fugue is also divided into three sections in which the fugal theme is presented eleven times. This edition by noted Bach expert Dr. Hans Bischoff includes numerous performance notes to assist pianists in the interpretation of one of Bach's best-known works.