Allegro in A Minor, Opus 144 ("Lebensstürme")
By Franz Schubert / ed. Maurice Hinson and Allison Nelson
Item: 00-38869
UPC: 038081431208
ISBN 10: 0739085921
ISBN 13: 9780739085929
PRICE: $8.99
Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Category: Piano Duet (1 Piano, 4 Hands)
Format: Book
Instrument: Piano
Level: Advanced
Franz Schubert was one of the most prolific composers of ensemble piano music, and the Allegro in A Minor, Op. 144, demonstrates his mastery at writing for one piano, four hands. This large and passionate work was composed in 1828, the year of Schubert's death. It is written in sonata-allegro form and may have been intended as the first movement of a sonata. It was first published by Anton Diabelli in 1840 with the title Lebensstürme: Characterischeres Allegro (Life's Storms: Characteristic Allegro). The Allegro makes extensive use of chromaticism, Neapolitan sixth chords, and contrasts of moods.