Alfred News

Alfred Music Publishing Releases Official Licensed Sheet Music Collection from Season One of NBC's Musical Drama, SMASH

LOS ANGELES, CA  -  Thursday, August 23, 2012
Alfred Music Publishing, the official print music publisher of thousands of popular artists, songwriters, and composers, releases The Music of Smash: Sheet Music Collection, the first officially licensed music folio from the new NBC hit television series, arranged for piano, voice, and guitar. The Music of Smash: Sheet Music Collection was licensed through the NBCUniversal Television Consumer Products Group.

The songs from season one of the hit series SMASH, written by the acclaimed Broadway writing duo Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, have become widely-popular among the memorable songs composed for TV. The Music of Smash: Sheet Music Collection is a beautifully produced collectible songbook perfect for musicians who are fans of the show and for vocalists to apply their talent. Complete sheet music arrangements to every song on The Music of SMASH album are included, with fan-favorites from season one such as “Let Me Be Your Star,” “History is Made at Night,” “Never Give All the Heart,” and many more from Shaiman and Wittman, plus “Touch Me” and new renditions of popular hits, including “Beautiful.” The songbook also includes several pages of full color production photos of the show.

SMASH songwriters Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman co-wrote the lyrics for the musical Hairspray which won them Tony®, Grammy®, and Olivier awards for the score. They teamed up again for Broadway's Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me and Catch Me If You Can. Shaiman and Wittman are currently at work on the Charlie & the Chocolate Factory musical for Broadway to be directed by the multi-award winning stage and film director Sam Mendes.

SMASH is a musical drama that celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire – to be a Broadway star. The series stars Emmy® Award winner Debra Messing (“Will & Grace”), Oscar winner Anjelica Huston (“Prizzi's Honor”), Katharine McPhee (“American Idol”), Jack Davenport (“Pirates of the Caribbean” films), Tony Award winner Christian Borle (“Peter and the Starcatcher”), Megan Hilty (“9 to 5: The Musical”), Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan (“Newsies”), Andy Mientus ("Spring Awakening"), Leslie Odom Jr. ("Leap of Faith") and Krysta Rodriguez ("Spring Awakening").

From Universal Television in association with DreamWorks Television, SMASH stemmed from an idea of executive producer and multiple Emmy and Oscar winner Steven Spielberg (“ER,” “Schindler's List”). The series’ executive producers also include Joshua Safran (“Gossip Girl”), Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning “Chicago,” “Hairspray”), Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey (“United States of Tara,” “The Borgias”), Tony and Grammy Award winners Shaiman and Wittman, Theresa Rebeck (“Mauritius,” “NYPD Blue”) and Jim Chory (NBC’s “Heroes, “American Dreams”).

The Music of Smash: Sheet Music Collection (00-39440) is available for $21.99 at music retail stores and at

Titles: Touch Me * Stand * Who You Are * Crazy Dreams * Beautiful * Haven’t Met You Yet * Shake It Out * Brighter Than the Sun * Let Me Be Your Star * 20th Century Fox Mambo * Mr. & Mrs. Smith * Let’s Be Bad * History Is Made at Night * Never Give All the Heart (bonus selection).