Alfred News

Alfred Music Publishing Releases The Rock Guitar Songbook, Volumes 1 and 2

LOS ANGELES, CA  -  Wednesday, February 29, 2012
Alfred Music Publishing, the world leader in educational print music publishing since 1922, is proud to announce the release of The Rock Guitar Songbook, Volumes 1 and 2, an exclusive guitar TAB collection featuring some of the greatest rock guitar songs from the 1950s – 2000s.

Perfect for rock guitar enthusiasts, each volume in the collection contains over 250 pages worth of rock classics, including “25 or 6 to 4” (Chicago), “Comfortably Numb” (Pink Floyd), “Lay Down Sally” (Eric Clapton), “Back in Black” (AC/DC), “Fake Plastic Trees” (Radiohead), “Smells Like Teen Spirit” (Nirvana), and many more. Every song in the TAB collection includes guitar chord grids and symbols. As a reference, the songbooks contain a helpful Guitar TAB Glossary that covers various topics such as bending notes, articulations, harmonics, rhythm slashes, the tremolo bar, and pick direction.

The Rock Guitar Songbook, Vol. 1 (1950s – 1970s) covers the 1950s – '70s with artists ranging from The Everly Brothers, Bill Haley, and Elvis; to Creedence Clearwater Revival, Traffic, Cream, and The Allman Brothers Band; to Kiss, Journey, Peter Frampton, Fleetwood Mac, and many more!

The Rock Guitar Songbook, Vol. 2 (1980s – 2000s) covers the '80s to the present with artists ranging from AC/DC, Aerosmith, Van Halen, and Guns N' Roses; to R.E.M. and Rush; to Creed, Muse, Green Day, Radiohead, Evanescence, Foo Fighters, and many more!

As part of Alfred’s ongoing commitment to improving the environment, the songbooks are printed on 100% recycled paper.

The Rock Guitar Songbook, Volumes 1 and 2 are now available for $24.99 at music retail stores and at Each songbook is also available in digital format, sold separately.

Volume One Titles: 25 or 6 to 4 (Chicago) * Amie (Pure Prairie League) * Black Water (The Doobie Brothers) * Blinded by the Light (Manfred Mann's Earth Band) * Can't You Hear Me Knocking (The Rolling Stones) * The Chain (Fleetwood Mac) * Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd) * Dear Mr. Fantasy (Traffic) * Do You Feel Like We Do (Peter Frampton) * Domino (Van Morrison) * Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough (Michael Jackson) * and many more.

Volume Two Titles: 21 Guns (Green Day) * 867-5309/Jenny (Tommy Tutone) * All Star (Smash Mouth) * All Summer Long (Kid Rock) * Back in Black (AC/DC) * Better Together (Jack Johnson) * Bitter Sweet Symphony (The Verve) * Bodysnatchers (Radiohead) * The Boys of Summer (Don Henley) * Broken (Seether) * Careless Whisper (Wham!) * and many more.